LeadWest Committee

The LeadWest Committee is an Advisory Committee of Melton City Council.

The primary purpose of the LeadWest Committee is to oversee the preparation and implementation of the LeadWest Committee’s Ten Year Strategic Plan and a four year rolling implementation plan.  The proposed key areas of focus for the Strategic Plan are:

  • jobs and skills
  • transport infrastructure and connectivity
  • health and wellbeing, and
  • continuing environmental rehabilitation and sustainable development. 

It is envisaged that the Plan will continue to emphasise the importance of building and maintaining strong partnerships with other levels of Government, the private sector, other regional bodies and stakeholders.

The LeadWest Committee will also identify sub projects as adopted and agreed by member Councils. 

The committee has eleven members; a Councillor member and a CEO member from each of the Cities of Brimbank, Hobsons Bay, Maribyrnong, Melton and Wyndham. The committee also has an independent chair member. Each Council also has a proxy Councillor member when required to attend. 

Prior to the introduction of the relevant provisions of the Local Government Act 2020 (the 2020 Act), the LeadWest Committee operated as a special committee under section 86 of the Local Government Act 1989 (the 1989 Act).  As a special committee of the 1989 Act it had delegated powers and functions in an Instrument of Delegation and Schedule and has Terms of Reference that governed its operations, meeting and reporting arrangements. 

The 2020 Act sees the introduction of delegated committees and in many respects these resemble the former special committees in the way they function. Pursuant to the 2020 Act delegated committees require a Councillor to be the chairperson whereas LeadWest has operated for some time with an independent chair.

LeadWest prefers to stay with this model.  It has written to the Minister for Local Government seeking exemption under section 177 of the 2020 Act to allow an independent chair of LeadWest operating as a Joint Delegated Committee

From 1 September 2020, when provisions relating to Delegated Committees commenced under the 2020 Act, until it receives a response from the Local Government Minister, LeadWest will operate as an Advisory Committee. 

Cr Ramsey is Council’s current delegate to LeadWest with Cr Kesic as proxy delegate. The CEO is also a delegate to LeadWest.