2024 Council Elections

Every four years, City of Melton residents vote to elect Councillors to represent the City of Melton community.  The next Council Election will be held on Saturday 26 October 2024.

The Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC) is responsible for managing local Council elections.

Voting information - Enrolling to vote

In a council election there are two types of enrolment:

  1. State-enrolled
  2. Council-enrolled. 

You have one vote per council. If you are a state-enrolled voter, that is the enrolment you use to vote. 

Find out more about enrolling to vote

Election Period

The Election Period begins on the last day of candidate nominations and ends at 6pm on Election Day.

  • Candidate nominations close*: Tuesday 24 September 2024
  • Election Day: Saturday 26 October 2024
  • Please note: the election is conducted by postal vote

*These dates may change, subject to the proposed Local Government (Governance and Integrity) Bill 2024

For information on becoming a candidate visit: VEC website.

Council operations during the Election Period

During the Election Period most Council services will operate as usual. 

During the Election Period, Council will follow procedures to prevent making decisions that would affect voting at an election or decisions that may unreasonably bind an incoming Council and could reasonably be deferred until after the election. 

The Melton City Council Election Period Policy(PDF, 1MB)  (located from page 46 of Council's Governance Rules) sets out the restrictions, requirements and expectations that apply during the period leading up to an election.  

New City of Melton wards

The City of Melton will move to a single-councillor ward structure from the 2024 local government election onwards.

From this election, the City of Melton will move from three wards to 10, each of these 10 wards will have one elected Councillor, these new wards will be: 

  1. Bullum Bullum Ward
  2. Cambrian Ward
  3. Coolibah Ward
  4. Hilltop Ward
  5. Jackwood Ward
  6. Lake Caroline Ward
  7. Mount Atkinson Ward
  8. Stringybark Ward
  9. Sugar Gum Ward
  10. Watts Ward

The new electoral structure was published in the Victorian Government Gazette on 15 February 2024.  For information on the electoral structure review and to view the final report visit the VEC website

Download: City of Melton current ward map(PDF, 1MB) 
Download: City of Melton new ward map(PDF, 4MB)