Short Story Competition

Our annual Short Story competition is a great opportunity for budding writers of all ages to showcase their talents and have their work reviewed by popular authors. 

Prizes are awarded to the best entries in Junior, Young Adult and Adult sections, as chosen by our expert panel of judges.

The 2022 Melton City Libraries Short Story Competition has now closed. Thank you to all our amazing participants and congratulations to our winners! Check out the winning entries below.


Junior A (Prep - Year 3)

First name   Title of entry
Nihira Silly the brave fish(PDF, 1MB) 1st Place
Kaylie The quest for life(PDF, 108KB)     2nd Place
Ellie How the bats got their wings(PDF, 608KB) 3rd Place
Ana Transformed(PDF, 98KB) Highly Commended 
Belle The infinity tree(PDF, 138KB) First Time Entry

Junior B (Year 4 - 6)

First name   Title of entry Place
Naavya I'm an old turtle(PDF, 82KB) 1st Place
Alexis The black swan(PDF, 30KB) 2nd Place
Madeleine Milo and me(PDF, 68KB)      3rd Place
Quayde How the platypus learned to swim(PDF, 63KB) Highly Commended
Jeremy The in-between(PDF, 133KB)  First Time Entry


   Title of entry
Arya    A day in Kashmir(PDF, 126KB)     1st Place
Yana    Testimonies to a woman's pain(PDF, 53KB) 2nd Place
Latisha    Anhedonia(PDF, 139KB) 3rd Place
Samaira    Tapestries(PDF, 57KB) Highly Commended
Miguel    ZAETA(PDF, 1MB) First Time Entry


First name    Title of entry Place
 Cyril A cracker of a game(PDF, 164KB) 1st Place
 Nadia An eternity only he knows(PDF, 62KB) 2nd Place
 Nathan Out West(PDF, 133KB) 3rd Place
 Shannon Growing Clementine(PDF, 147KB) Highly Commended
 Simon Pass the parcel First Time Entry



Thank you to this year's judges:

Favel Parrett

Favel Parrett's career was launched in 2011 with her critically acclaimed debut ‘Past the Shallows’. A heart-breaking novel, it was sold internationally and was shortlisted for the prestigious Miles Franklin Award. Her next novel, ‘When the Night Comes’, was also critically acclaimed and further consolidated Favel's reputation with booksellers and readers. Her success has continued with her eagerly-awaited third novel, ‘There Was Still Love’ and her first children’s book, ‘Wandi’.

Learn more about Favel Parrett.

Nicole Hayes

Nicole Hayes is an award-winning writer and podcaster, a Stella Prize Schools Ambassador and an Australia Reads Ambassador. Her Young Adult novel, ‘One True Thing’, was awarded the Children’s Peace Literature Award and was shortlisted for the WA Premier’s Literary Award, the WA Young Readers Award, the YABBA and KOALA awards. ‘A Shadow’s Breath’ was a finalist for the NSW Premier’s Award, the Gold INKY Awards and a CBCA Notable book. Her debut novel, ‘The Whole of My World’, a YA #MeToo novel set in the world of AFL, was longlisted for the Gold Inky Award, and shortlisted for YABBA and KOALA awards.
Nicole is also co-author of the popular AFL junior fiction series, ‘Little Legends’ and is part of the ground-breaking ‘Outer Sanctum’ AFL podcast. She teaches creative writing to adults and young people, and is pursuing a PhD at Deakin University.

Learn more about Nicole Hayes.

Katherine Kovacic

Katherine Kovacic is the author of the award-winning Alex Clayton art mystery series. She has also delved into true crime with ‘The Schoolgirl Strangler’ and brought the character of Peregrine Fisher from screen to page in Ms Fisher’s Modern Murder Mysteries, ‘Just Murdered’.

Based in Melbourne, Katherine has a diverse background ranging from veterinary medicine to art history. When she’s not writing, she divides her time between a small family dog training business, and working in the heritage sector.

Learn more about Katherine Kovacic.