Australia Day 2018


When: Friday 26 January, 9.30am - 12pm

Where: The Willows Historical Park, Nixon Street, Melton

The annual Australia Day Celebrations will feature live entertainment, followed by formal proceedings including a Welcome to Country, presentation of the Community Achievement Awards, an address from the City of Melton Australia Day Ambassador, the flag raising ceremony, concluding with the citizenship ceremony.

Activities include:

  • Live entertainment
  • Free BBQ and ANZAC biscuits
  • Henna, Dingoes and face painting
  • Bunnings and Scout activities
  • Men's Shed Children's activities


9.15am     Live entertainment - the Hip Streets

10.00am   Introduction by Master of Ceremonies

                   Flag raising ceremony

10.07am   National Anthem

10.11am   Welcome to Country

                   Official Welcome by Master of Ceremonies

10.16am   Welcome by the Mayor Cr Bob Turner

10.18am   Australia Day Ambassador, Jason Trethowan, CEO Headspace

10.28am   I am, You are, We are Australian, performed by Ash Kennedy

10.32am   Community Achievement Awards presentations

11.01am   Citizenship Ceremony

11.45am   Live entertainment - the Hip Streets

12noon     Celebration concludes


Community Achievement Awards:

Each Australia Day, Council proudly recognises people whose contributions make this region an even better place to live through the Melton City Council Community Achievement Awards.

All nominees will be recognised and awards presented at the Australia Day ceremony.

2018 Community Achievement Awards nominees

The recipients for each category will be announced on Australia Day. Congratulations to all those that were nominated.

Citizen of the Year

  • David Cowan
  • Evelyn Meijer
  • Helen Scott
  • John Bentley
  • John Kon
  • Karen Brewer
  • Margaret Wood
  • Maureen Mohr
  • Pam Madej
  • Robert Aduer
  • Sana Zaman
  • Sunil Prabhakar
  • Nilaufer Singh

Young  Citizen of the Year

  • Amy Bell
  • Malaz Dewanyang
  • Sharie May Castillo

Woman of the Year 

  • Deepti Alurkar
  • Nilaufer Singh
  • Uma Vijai
  • Jane Sultana
  • Veronica Schwarz

Access and inclusion Leader of the Year 

  • David Hibbert
  • Lesley Jenner
  • Romika Ram
  • Vicki O'Neill

Project of the Year

  • Koolin Balit Early Years Project
  • Linking Melton South
  • Utsav Malayalee Samaj/Trees for Life on Kororoit Creek
  • Women Making it Happen