A Thriving Community Where Everyone Belongs



MEDIA RELEASE

14 September 2017

Local sporting stars honoured at annual awards night

Local sports and recreation clubs, volunteers, and athletes were this week honoured at the annual City of Melton Sports Awards.

The annual event, held at Tabcorp Park on 12 September, recognised the hard work of athletes and volunteers in the City of Melton who help promote the benefits of being active.

Football power house Moana Hope inspired the crowd with her insights into her world of being an elite athlete and becoming a role model to so many women.

A number of awards were presented at the event, including the Lydia Lassila Youth Sports Scholarship. The \$1,500 scholarship was awarded to athletics champion Montana Djatschenko, to help cover a variety of sports associated costs including travel and coaching.

And Melton Hockey Club took home the highly coveted Sports Club of the Year award.

City of Melton Mayor, Cr Sophie Ramsey, said the awards evening was important to celebrate excellence, endeavour, and achievement in the local sporting community.

"It's the passion, dedication and persistence of our volunteers which make sport in our community lively, competitive and strong," Cr Ramsey said.

"I can't wait to watch our talented athletes continue to grow, and become leaders in their sporting fields."

Melton City Council's Recreation Department manages more than 40 active sport and recreation programs around the City. This includes more than 160 sporting clubs and associations operating from our facilities.

A full list of categories and award winners is attached.

ENDS

Melton City Council media enquiries (not for publication): Therese Allaoui – Media and Communications Adviser on (03) 9747 7132.



MEDIA RELEASE

Sports Encouragement Award Winners:

Rebekah Sutton – Athletics Maison Day- Netball Nolan Cockburn – Hockey Peter Berens – Swimming Zoe Berens – Swimming

Sports Club Volunteer Recognition Awards:

Ernie Quintas - Burnside Heights Football Club
Jacqueline Pearce - Melton & District Riding for the Disabled
Jan Schulz - St Albans Caroline Springs Netball Association
Jim Herlihy - Eynesbury Cricket Club
Johnny Lennon - Melton Junior Football Club
Joyce Buttigieg - George Cross Football Club
Michelle Whitehand - Melton Saturday Auskick
Natalie Murphy - Spartans Basketball Club (Melton)
Robert Lake - Caroline Springs Hockey Club
Scott Thompson - Diggers Rest Auskick
Shaun McKerral - Diggers Rest Junior Football Netball Club
Simon Vannuccini - Rockbank Football Sporting Club
Stephen Azzopardi - Melton Hockey Club
Barry Taylor (dec. Aimee Orr accepted on his behalf) - Melton City Little
Athletics

Sports Club of the Year

Melton Hockey Club