YAC Awards

Melton City Council Youth Services are keen to support and celebrate the achievements of young people, aged 12-25, within the municipality through the annual Youth Advisory Council (YAC) Awards.

Applications closed 15 February 2017. 

The YAC Awards categories are:

  • Leadership/ Positive Role Model
  • Active Achievement
  • Inspiration/Determination
  • Social Justice
  • Environment and Sustainability
  • Arts
  • Diversity

Entry criteria:

  • Nominees must be aged 12 to 25 years.
  • Nominees must live, work or attend school in the City of Melton.
  • Nominators must NOT be related to the young person they are nominating.
  • Nominees can be entered in more than one category for separate contributions.  A separate entry form must be completed for each category.
  • Nominees must agree to the nomination and attend the Awards ceremony.


2017 Youth Advisory Council (YAC) Individual Award winners:

Positive Role Model Award: Blair Greenhalg, Blayke Lewis, Emily Sommerfield, James Petrovski, Jenny Bui, Sharie May Castillo.

Leadership Award: Aleiasha Clark, Aliza Rizvi, Bethany Kashani, Courtney Semini, Zoe Angus.

Arts Award: Annaliese Gee, Casey Cassar, Daniel Todd, Mary Klenkowski, Monique Armstrong, Jay Johnston.

Diversity Award: Christine Papalii Seu. Sakir Nawaz, Suitupe Seu.

Active Achievement Award: Liam Oakley, Jaxon holliday, Jordan Chircop, William Markovski, Jessica Marher.

Inspiration Award: Sobur Dhieu, Jai Robinson, Phoebe Warren.

Determination Award: Savannah de Giorgio, OmoLara Bello, Poppe-Simone Sakr.

Social Justice Award: Victoria Vassallo, Nikita Davies, Nick Klenkowski.

The overall Youth Advisory Council Honours Award went to Poppe-Simone Sakr
for continually showing determination in pursuit of her goals including competing in the Special Olympics.


Recipients of the 2017 Youth Advisory Council (YAC) Grants are:

Leadership and Positive Role Model: Sumnima Baral

Inspiration and Determination: Peter Griffin, Tenee Arnette, Breeanna Scicluna.

Arts: Alexi Prefol, Omolara Bello, Mary Klenkowski, Kayla Fioritti, Alisa Chakik, Gabrielle Anne Medina, Poppe-Simone Sakr, Alana Mae Fioritti, Callum Stock,
Manoj Khadka, Jade-Amanda, Flazon Tabone.

Active Achievement (Sports): Nathan Axiaq, Aidan Falzon, Liam Oakley, Nolan Cockburn, Akira Richardson, Dakota Kapitan, Zachary Gorman, Austin Kakon, Fasil Mengistu, Yelma Mengistu, Solomon Yabio, Yilma Hayelom, Melkamu Hayelom.


2017 Youth Advisory Council (YAC) Project Grants:

VicSEG Futures – Steady Pulse-the Remix - $3000 arts grant to help involve young people from South Sudanese and other refugee backgrounds from Melton township in a weekly hiphop songwriting, performance and recording project run at Melton Library.

Diggers Rest Junior Football Netball Club - $2000 grant to run an event bringing together the youth within the community and encourage young people to be an active part of the club.   

Contact us

For more information contact Youth Services on 9747 5373 or email yac@melton.vic.gov.au.